

To: Members of the Performance

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 19 January 2024

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the PERFORMANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 25 JANUARY 2024 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Monitoring Officer

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS (Pages 5 - 6)

To review for information the record of delegated decisions taken by officers since the last meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

To confirm the forward work plan for future meetings.

4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the Performance Scrutiny Committee meeting held on 30 November 2023 (copy attached).

5 PROMOTE SCHOOL ATTENDANCE AND ENGAGEMENT IN EDUCATION (Pages 17 - 74)

To consider a report by the Education Social Work Team Leader (copy attached) which provides members with the current position with regards to school attendance and engagement in education. The report also seeks the Committee's views on the approach taken by the local education authority to maximise pupil engagement in education.

10.10 am - 11.00 am

~~~~ BREAK (11.00 am - 11.15 am) ~~~~

#### 6 LIBRARY SERVICE STANDARDS AND PERFORMANCE (Pages 75 - 94)

To consider a report by the Principal Librarian (copy attached) which highlights the Library Service's performance against National Standards and seeks the Committee's observations in relation to the report's contents.

11.15 am - 12.00 pm

#### 7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 95 - 118)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy attached) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

12.00 pm - 12.20 pm

#### 8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

12.20 pm - 12.30 pm

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

#### Councillors

Councillor Hugh Irving (Chair) Councillor Gareth Sandilands (Vice-Chair)

Ellie Chard Paul Keddie
Bobby Feeley Diane King
Martyn Hogg Terry Mendies
Carol Holliday Andrea Tomlin

Alan Hughes

## **Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)**

David Lloyd Colette Owen Neil Roberts

### **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils